Sesame Seed-Crusted Salmon Burger with Yogurt Sauce

20130903-191930.jpg

Quick back story – I don’t like salmon patties. Never really have. It’s one of those things that I remember from my childhood as a meal I dreaded. My wife on the other hand, loves them. She’s made them a few times but not that much and I’ve always refused to eat them. But I found this recipe awhile back while reading an article on Yahoo! health about the “best healthy burger recipes” and thought I’d give it another shot. And since we were just talking about it over the weekend, now seemed like a good time.

Quick point of clarification – my wife says these aren’t salmon patties, they are “gourmet salmon whatever’s” and not poor mans salmon patties as she likes to refer to them. After all, I didn’t use canned salmon.

So I made them………………………..and they were ok. Better than the salmon patties I remember from my youth but still not that great. My wife liked them and the kids ate them (5 and 3) but they didn’t thrill me.

The only tweaks I made were to use dried dill (half as much as it called for) and a full 6 oz container of plain Greek yogurt (more than a half cup) as the dill seemed really overpowering. The yogurt sauce was good. I can see that being used with other stuff.

1 lb salmon fillet, skinned and chopped (do your best to chop it really fine)
2 cups chopped spinach
1/4 cup bread crumbs
1 TBSP lemon juice
1 TBSP finely grated fresh ginger
1 TBSP soy sauce
1/4 cup sesame seeds, toasted (reserve 1 TBSP)
1/4 TSP salt
1/4 TSP pepper

Sauce

1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt
2 TBSP finely chopped fresh dill
1/2 TSP minced garlic
4 whole wheat hamburger buns

Combine all ingredients for the burgers (only use the 1 TBSP sesame seeds). Mix well and form into four patties. Place remaining seeds on a plate and coat one side of the patties with the seeds. Heat a grill pan (I used a cast iron skillet) that is lightly oiled over medium heat. Place patties in the pan and cook, turning once for 3-4 minutes per side.

Combine sauce ingredients. Let stand while cooking patties. Toast buns if desired. Serve patties with the yogurt sauce.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

