Maple Walnut Chicken with Linguine

20130719-061232.jpg

Somewhere I have a bunch of recipes that are chicken and pasta that I used to make all the time. I think I kind of burned out on them as I haven’t made them in quite awhile. This recipe reminded me of those so I thought I’d give it a try.

It turned out really well. The flavors worked well and a bite of the chicken, onion/walnut mix and pasta was really good together. It didn’t say to pair it with pasta but there was pasta in the picture in the magazine so I figured, why not?

I tried to pick out the smaller chicken breasts from the bag and those that were all the same size to even the cooking. It worked, but it certainly didn’t take as long as the recipe suggested. The downside, regardless of the size of the chicken breasts is that eventually the oil starts to “run out” and the chicken starts to stick a bit. I was fortunate that at that point my chicken was about done. You’d have to add some more oil to help with it if you need to cook it longer. Along with that, once your chicken is done and you add the onions you’ll still have some “sticking” as they cook. Might need a bit more oil there as well. But, when you deglaze the pan, anything that stuck should come off.

Other than that, no issues. I did use real maple syrup and not fake syrup from the store or the stuff that I have previously made. I think that, while expensive, it really helps make the flavor where it needs to be.

(recipe taken from the fall 2012 Taste of Home Cooking School Cookbook

4 chicken breasts
Salt and pepper (to taste – I didn’t really use any)
1 TBSP olive oil
1 red onion, chopped
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup chicken stock
1/2 cup maple syrup
1 cup walnut halves (or chopped)

Rinse and pat dry chicken breasts. Season with salt and pepper. Preheat a skillet over medium high heat. Add oil and chicken breasts. Cook for about 10 minutes on each side or until chicken is done. Remove from pan.

Add onion to pan and cook for about 5 minutes. Add the vinegar and deglaze the pan. Scrap the sides and bottom and cook for a few minutes. Add the chicken stock, maple syrup and additional pepper to taste. Cook for a few minutes, until thickened.

Add the chicken back into the pan. Add the walnuts and baste the chicken with the mixture. Simmer for about 5 minute, covered. I then flipped the chicken and let it go a few more minutes.

If pairing with pasta, cook according to package directions. Serve chicken over a bed of pasta.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

