Blue Raspberry Real Fruit Jello

20130719-184437.jpg

I think this goes down on the list of things where I can say “yes, I made that” but then not worry about it again. I didn’t think it was too bad but it was resoundly rejected by the rest, mostly due to texture. As it uses puréed, real fruit (you know, no fake fruit here) it comes out cloudy rather than clear like the box stuff. Also, since its puréed it can only get so smooth – there will be some pieces, etc. in it. After making it I thought that I could have put it through a strainer but that seemed like more work than it was worth.

It isn’t a hard recipe to make. The steps are pretty simple and it only took about an hour and a half to set up. Or at least that is when I checked it and it was fine. I used one cup of blueberries and about a half cup of red raspberries. I had bought some strawberries but it seemed to be a bit much from a flavor standpoint if I used it. The flavor of the raspberries is pretty prominent even though its only one third of the make up.

Side note – the amount of gelatin it calls for is equal (more or less) to the four packets of gelatin in a one ounce box. I found that out after carefully measuring them out to see how much it took.

It says to use an 8×8 pan but I used one that was about 11×7. Worked fine but just thinner pieces. Oh and it said that the honey was optional. I didn’t use it. In fact I forgot about it. Don’t know what it would have added other than some sweetness. The taste wasn’t bad without it so I don’t know that it’s hugely necessary.

1 1/2 cups fresh berries (blueberries, strawberries, blackberries or raspberries)
2 1/2 TBSP gelatin
4 TBSP honey (optional)
1 cup water

Put water in a small pot on high heat to bring it to a boil. Put the berries in a blender and blend until smooth and of a consistent color. While there may be seeds, they shouldn’t be visible. Add the gelatin and boiling water to the blender. Blend until smooth. CAREFUL – even with a lid on the blender and my hand on the lid, some liquid came flying out. Must have been a crack somewhere.

Pour into a pan or mold. Cover and refrigerate for a few hours before serving.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

