White Chocolate Pudding with Blackberry Curd

20130714-070453.jpg

I’ve got to start out and toot my own horn for a minute. This turned out really well and I’m pretty impressed with myself. Partly as it was pretty complicated and partly because I had some hiccups along the way. I really wasn’t sure how it was going to turn out.

I found this recipe in a cookbook my sister in law got for Christmas last year, at least I think so. All I did was take pictures of the recipe pages so I’m not sure when/where this came from.

The biggest stumbling block for me was the initial cooking of the pudding. The recipe just references mixing it together and then placing it over “gently simmering water”. No idea exactly what that means AND it kind of reads that you should be doing something with it over heat in addition to the water thing. Anyway, I think it might be referring to a double boiler. Since I don’t have one of those I took a big pot, filled it with water and put a metal rack over the pot to set the other pot on. Ingenious yes, worked….not really. I kept the water at a roiling boil knowing that I was going to lose some of the heat around the pot to the open air. However, after 25 minutes (it said 15-20) nothing was really happening. So, I took a chance and just out it on direct heat (medium-ish) and stirred, almost constantly. It didn’t take long for it to reach the right consistency and didn’t take long to finish once I added the chocolate.

Speaking of the chocolate, I used white chocolate baking squares. I think the recipe was suggesting using a big chunk of white chocolate but since I had the baking squares (with no other use in mind) I used them.

The curd turned out as well. It was the first time I had ever made a curd. It was a “quick” curd so I don’t know what the differences are but was pretty quick and easy. Just be careful on the blackberries as they will stain almost anything.

In the end, I impressed myself, made a great dessert but if I’m honest, I might not do it again. It was a lot of work for what felt like not a lot of reward (quantity wise). It might be a cool thing to make for a party and out it in smaller dishes like a shot glass to serve.

White Chocolate Pudding

3 TBSP cornstarch
1 TBSP sugar
1/4 TSP salt
2 1/4 cups whole milk
4 1/2 oz white chocolate, chopped
1/2 TSP vanilla

Quick Blackberry Curd

1/2 cup fresh blackberries
1 TBSP lemon juice
1/4 cup sugar
Pinch of salt
1 large egg
2 TBSP unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

To make the pudding —

Combine the cornstarch, sugar and salt in a heavy saucepan. Slowly whisk in the milk, scraping the bottom and sides. Place over medium heat, stirring very frequently until the mixture begins to thicken and coats the back of a spoon. Add the chocolate and stir another 2-4 minutes or until smooth and thickened. I used a whisk to help break up any clumps. Remove from heat and stir in the vanilla.

If you want a perfectly smooth texture, you can push it through a fine mesh strainer to get rid of the lumps (if any). I did not and didn’t really notice any lumps. Pour into individual serving cups and chill in the fridge. NOTE – unlike the store bought pudding or the instant pudding you make from the box it may not completely solidify. About 24 hours later I could still turn the cup and it would move.

To make the blackberry curd –

Purée the berries in a food processor or blender (what I used) until as smooth as possible. Push the purée through a fine mesh strainer to remove the seeds. You should have about 3-4 TBSP of purée. I didn’t measure, just assumed it was right. Whisk together the purée, lemon juice, sugar, salt and egg on a heavy saucepan. Stir in the butter and cook over moderately low heat, whisking frequently until the curd is thick enough to hold the marks of the whisk and the first bubble appears. It should be about 4-5 minutes. Mine bubbled before it could hold the whisk marks. I kept whisking until it did.

Again, you can push it through a strainer if you want super smooth texture, but I did not. I let it cool a bit in the pan and then tried to evenly spoon it over the pudding. I let everything chill in the fridge until the next night before eating. I was trying to see if it would solidify but as I noted above, it did not. However, that did not matter. It was still fantastic.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

