Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

20130708-055222.jpg

I tend to not do as much “baking” as “cooking” but occasionally I come across something that catches my eye that I want to try. This another example. In fact, pretty much everything I do cook is based on the fact that it is interesting or sounds good. I think I’ve mentioned that before. But I digress.

These turned out good although the wrapper stuck to the first couple that were eaten. The next morning it came off just fine however.

This called for Eggland’s Best eggs (it was their recipe I guess) but I choose to use regular eggs as I buy regular eggs. It also calls for fat-free vanilla yogurt. I used a single serving of plain Greek yogurt as that is what we had. I think it worked just fine. I didn’t measure it out. It looked like a half cup.

Quick disclaimer – I tend to use what I have on hand (most of the time). So, when I get recipes that call for fat-free this or low-fat that or anything similar I tend to not quite follow the directions. We have Vitamin D milk in the house, regular butter, regular eggs, etc.

Speaking of milk, it called for low-fat butter milk. Although I read recently on another blog that buttermilk freezes well (meaning you can buy it, use what you need for a recipe and then freeze the rest in one cup portions – or whatever) I am always hesitant to buy it. I have continually substituted “sour milk” for butter milk. Never seems to make that much of a difference. To make sour milk, use 1 TBSP of lemon juice per cup of milk. NOTE – put the lemon juice in the measuring cup and fill to equal 1 cup. Let it sit for about 5 minutes. I always stir it up before adding it.

Also, I did use a “real” lemon and lemon zest rather than bottled juice and dried zest. I go back and forth sometimes as to what I do. The juice and dried zest is easier but it’s hard to judge how much zest to add sometimes. I did read that a lemon (or lime or medium orange) can produce about 1/4 cup of juice.

This should make 16 muffins (according to the recipe) but I fit it all into 12. Some were just bigger. 🙂

recipe from Taste of Home Cooking School magazine, Fall 2012

2 eggs
1/2 cup low fat buttermilk
1/2 cup fat free vanilla yogurt
1/4 cup canola oil
Juice of 1 lemon
Zest of 1 lemon
3/4 cup sugar
2 cups all purpose flour
1 TSP baking soda
1 TSP baking powder
1 box instant lemon pudding
1/2 TSP kosher salt
2 TBSP poppy seeds

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line muffin tin with paper liners.

Mix all dry ingredients in a medium bowl. In a separate bowl, mix remaining ingredients with an electric mixer until combined. Add dry ingredients to the wet ingredients. Mix until just combined, do not over mix. Fill each muffin cup about 2/3 full. Bake for 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Dust with powdered sugar if desired.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

