Shrimp Ceviche

20130630-070845.jpg

This was another random recipe I had found and decided that I would print off and make at some point. We had a party yesterday for my daughter’s birthday and we had most of the stuff needed so I thought I’d give it a whirl.

I did use uncooked shrimp which required me to shell and devein them. NOT my idea of a good time. It was tedious. I normally buy pre cooked shrimp and just thaw them but I grabbed the wrong package. Good cooking lesson but I don’t think I’ll be doing that again.

I swapped the Serrano chile for a jalapeño. I wanted a little less heat. At the end of it though, there really wasn’t any heat after I seeded and finely chopped the jalapeño. I also used all lemon juice instead of lemon and lime. The bottle in the fridge I thought was lime juice turned out to be another bottle of lemon juice. One and a half cups of juice is a lot and I would recommend (as a note in the recipe says) to drain off some of it after its done. It was pretty acidic (and lemon-y) with all of it still there. I don’t know about adding more avocado or oil.

In the end it was a big hit. I was happy that the avocado wasn’t that strong as I’m not that big of a fan. The cilantro played nice with everything as well. I’m a big cilantro fan so take that for what it’s worth.

Shrimp Ceviche

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

