Homemade Maple Syrup

20130624-054554.jpg

Like a lot of people, we try to eat healthy (hence the majority of the meals are from scratch, at home) and we try to avoid the “fake stuff” that comes in a lot of prepared food. One Saturday morning my wife made a comment that we should stop buying the “fake” syrup and by the pure maple syrup since it would be better for us (if you don’t consider the pure sugar bad). So the next time I was at the store I bought some but choked on the price. It’s pretty expensive. Actually, a lot expensive. Anyway, we used it. Biggest downside is that the kids didn’t like it. It didn’t taste good. If you’ve never had it, it is different. There is a different taste and it is much thinner (in consistency) than some of the other stuff. That led us to think maybe we should forget it and go back to the other stuff. I thought there had to be a recipe somewhere for syrup that I could try to make.

This was one of the first ones I found and seemed simple enough with ingredients I had a home already. A couple of notes – first while I read the ingredient list and saw the quantities, I missed that part about how much it made. It makes 2 1/2 quarts so, if you don’t go through that much syrup, you might try cutting the recipe in half to try it out. While I love my syrup – as my wife puts it, I have a little pancakes to go with my syrup – we really only use it on the weekends so this will last awhile.

Also, use a BIG pot. I got out our normal pot we use for everything and it filled it almost to the top. I didn’t think much of it until it boiled over and I needed to clean the stove. So I got out our really big pot and went from there. The only change I made was I used artificial maple extract as that is what I had.

I tasted it when it was done and used it the next morning on some waffles. I thought it tasted good but it had a distinct honey flavor. I’m not sure if that is because I used the artificial maple extract or just the way it is. But it wasn’t quite maple-y. Anyway, should we decide that this is good (or rather, the kids don’t complain about it too much) I’ll play with the recipe for the next batch. I’ll probably start with using the real maple extract and go from there. Other potential changes are the amount of honey.

Homemade Maple Syrup

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homemade Maple Syrup

  1. Pingback: Homemade Maple Syrup, Take 2 | A Casual Foodie's Blog

  2. Pingback: Homemade Maple Syrup, Take 5 | A Casual Foodie's Blog

Leave a Reply

