Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes

20130427-073727.jpg

Trying to decide on a side dish for a meal a while back I had decided on a potato dish of some kind but I wasn’t quite sure what. I didn’t feel like mashed or just baked. All I did know is that I wanted to use something other than the standard russet so I bought some gold potatoes (you know, the ones that are yellow).

Once I settled on scalloped potatoes I had to find a recipe. Although there are probably thousands of recipes available with a quick Google search, I decided to look in some of the old church cookbooks I’ve got. I figured there had to be a recipe in one of those. Boy was I wrong. I was pretty surprised I couldn’t find anything, considering my uncle had made some over Easter and I was sure that recipe or one similar had to be in a cookbook. Anyway, I found a recipe In the Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook: Bridal Edition that we’ve got.

Good recipe. It is easily made with or without cheese. I used some sharp cheddar that we had already rather than getting something new. The only downside of the whole thing was that it took longer to cook than the recipe said. I had cut the potatoes by hand, as thin as I could, and I don’t know if that was an issue (not getting them thin enough) but it took a while. I had considered using the mandolin I have but the last time I used it, it cut them really thin.

Anyway, it still worked out.

1/2 cup chopped onion
1 clove garlic, minced
2 TBSP butter
2 TBSP all-purpose flour
1/2 TSP salt
1/4 TSP black pepper
1 1/4 cup milk
1 lb potatoes, peeled if desired, cut thin. (I weighed out the potatoes)
3/4 cup shredded cheese, if desired

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 1 1/2 quart casserole dish and set aside. In a small saucepan, cook onion and garlic in butter until tender. Stir in flour, salt and pepper. Add milk all at once. Cook and stir over medium heat until thickened and bubbly. If using cheese, add and stir until melted.

Thinly slice the potatoes. Place half the potatoes in the casserole dish. Pour half the sauce over the potatoes. Repeat with remaining potatoes and sauce.

Bake, covered for 40 minutes. Uncover and bake for 15-20 minutes or until potatoes are tender. I did stir it a few times trying to redistribute everything and help the cooking process. Don’t know if it actually helped or not.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

