Apple Cake

20130411-205614.jpg

I’ll be honest, I found this online quite awhile ago and simply copied and pasted the ingredients and steps. So, I don’t know where it came from. Plus, what I copied calls it “Teddie’s” Apple Cake. I have no idea who Teddie is. So, I’m just calling it Apple Cake. Sorry Teddie.

Anywho, this turned out really good. It’s good enough to eat as dessert with some vanilla ice cream and good enough to for breakfast as a coffee cake — without feeling like you are eating cake for breakfast (if that’s even an issue).

Now, I did get a little skeptical about it after mixing it together. It was really thick. It took a bit of work to mix in the apples, raisins and walnuts. I did that by hand. I did end up chopping some of the apples up, at least in half. Not necessarily thinner but it made it easier to mix in. I also soaked the raisins first which, again, made them not dry out the cake.

3 cups of all purpose flour
1 1/2 cups vegetable oil
2 cups sugar
3 eggs
1 TSP salt
1 TSP cinnamon
1 TSP baking soda
1 TSP vanilla
3 cups peeled, cored and thickly sliced green apples
1 cup chopped walnuts
1 cup raisins

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 9 inch tube pan (I used a 9.75 fluted bundt pan). Beat oil and sugar together in a mixer (with paddle attachment). After 5 minutes add the eggs and beat until creamy.

Mix together flour, salt, cinnamon and baking soda. Stir into the batter. Add vanilla. Mix in apples, walnuts and raisins. Transfer mixture to prepared pan. Bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes or u til a toothpick comes out clean. Cool in pan before lifting out. Serve at room temperature.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

