Roasted Peach Whiskey Pulled Pork

IMG_1584So, I kind of felt like I was cheating when I was making this, mostly because I was using a bottled sauce and not doing it from scratch.  Then I realized that all the pulled pork I make uses bottled sauce so I didn’t feel that bad.  The method was a little different that what I normally do, mainly the cooking time.

The recipe was on the bottle of Roasted Peach Whiskey Sauce from Stonewall Kitchens.  Getting the sauce in the first place was something of an impulse purchase.

2-3 lb boneless pork butt
salt
pepper
2 TBSP oil
bottle of sauce

In a dutch oven or other oven safe dish with a lid, heat the oil over medium heat.  Rub salt and pepper over the entire pork butt.  Brown the pork butt on each side.  Cover, transfer dish to oven preheated to 325 degrees.  Cook for about 3 hours.  Shred pork, removing any excess fat and mix the sauce in.  Done.

I chose to use a bone in pork butt primarily cause it was cheaper at the store.  Side benefit, bone in cuts of meat result in better flavor.  In doing so I had a 3.9 lb pork butt.  Some of the weight would be from the bone so I decided it would work out.  In the end I think it could have cooked longer (I usually leave my pork go for 8+ hours) but it shredded pretty easily.  It tasted great, thanks to the sauce.  I think I’ll have to experiment and see if I can create something like that myself.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

