Chicken Sausage, Peppers and Tomatoes with Vermicelli

IMG_1533Nothing too special about this recipe.  The biggest draw was that I realized that I had everything for the recipe.  I did wind up needing to adjust it a little as one of the peppers I had turned out to be moldy – inside, uncut.  So I only used one pepper instead of the multiple it called for.  And it called for linguine but I used another pasta.  As I believe I had mentioned in another post, for the most part, my opinion is that often they type of pasta used isn’t important.  And I used canned tomatoes rather than fresh.  So, basically, took the concept of the recipe and did my own thing.  It still turned out.

(recipe taken from Kraft Food and Family magazine, Summer ’12 issue)

1/2 lb linguine (or spaghetti, angel hair, vermicelli)
1 pkg (12 oz) chicken sausage links (I used Johnsonville Apple Chicken Sausage) cut into 1/2 inch thick slices, diagonally
3 bell peppers (assorted colors), coarsely chopped
3 tomatoes, chopped (I used one 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes)
1/4 cup parmesan cheese

Cook pasta as directed.  Meanwhile cook the sausage and peppers in a large non-stick skillet on medium high heat for 4 to 6 minutes or until the sausage is heated through and the peppers are crisp-tender (still a little crunchy).  Stir in tomatoes; cover.  Simmer on medium-low heat for 5 to 6 minutes or untill tomatoes are softened.  Canned tomatoes are already “soft” but I still cooked for that length of time.  Drain pasta.  Combine pasta with sausage mixture and toss to combine.  Add about half the parmesan cheese and toss to incorporate.  Serve with the additional cheese.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

