Pulled Pork

IMG_1473I’ve made pulled pork lots of different times.  This time it was for a specific dish that involved pulled pork, smoked cheddar and phyllo dough shells.  However, I couldn’t find the pre-made shells in the one store I was at so I just bought phyllo dough.  Long story short, it didn’t work out.  So, we just had pulled pork sandwiches (no complaints there).

This is one recipe that I don’t have specific measurements for and it really varies based on how much meat you have.  I’ve made batches as small as this one (about 3 pounds) and I’ve filled a big roaster (about 20 pounds).  The process however, is fairly simple even though it takes time.  Normally you would use a pork butt (with bone) for this.  In this instance I used a boneless pork loin as I had the other half from a previous night.  It worked just fine.

If I’m doing a small amount, I use a crock pot.  For the larger amount, I’ve used a roaster.  Either way, the process is the same.

Start by cutting yellow onions into slices (rings) and place them on the bottom of the crock pot in a single layer.  Generously rub salt and pepper over the pork (all sides) and place in crock pot on top of the onions.  Cut additional onions and place on top of the pork.  Cook at least 8 hours on low heat.  Depending on when you need it, I usually wind up doing this overnight or, in some cases, getting up at like 3 am to start it (true story).

When it is “done”, discard the onions and drain the juices.  Shred the pork removing the bones (if there are some) and put it back into the crock pot.  Finely chop some yellow onion (again, amount varies) and place in the crock pot with the pork.  Add BBQ sauce.  Here is a chance to tailor it a little bit by using a BBQ of your choice.  Over time I’ve used a few different kinds.  Each time it worked out well.  This time I used a whole bottle of Kraft Hickory BBQ (about 17.5 oz bottle).  Mix thoroughly and continue to cook on low heat for about 3 hours.  Stir occasionally and some might stick/”burn” on the sides if it sits for a really long time without stirring.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

